Just a Quick Update

The last few days this really annoying thing called “life” has gotten in the way of me trying to get a lot of work done. It’s annoying.  But it is the way it is.

*****

Tony Jones had a great post up Monday that was an all around housekeeping sort of post.  It is good to know that if Tony can find it hard to sit down on right every day, describing blogging as “a grind.”

Gives me hope that I’m not a total slacker.

*****

Peter Rollins has a great post on his “Atheism for Lent” project, written as a response to Micah Bales.  While it is typical Rollins in a lot of ways (meaning take your Advil before you read), the conclusion is about as succinct as I have seen Rollins be in writing:

In Atheism for Lent we encourage people to face their doubts, to consider how the idea of God functions in their life and discover that faith is not connected with affirming some particular thing but rather of being taken up in the depth of life, a commitment that transcends theistic/atheistic distinctions and that results in real, material commitment to political transformation (through the valuation of life itself).

This reminds me, I am still planning on doing a blog through on Insurrection prior to Easter.  I will post a schedule soon. (If you are interested in following along, get a copy of Insurrection here)

*****

Speaking of blog throughs, Bo Sanders over at Homebrewed Christianity is doing a Lenten blog for Tony Kriz’s book Neighbors and Wisemen.  As is a running theme these days, I am already behind.  However, I hope to catch up over the next few days.

*****

One final bit of book news: I awoke this morning to an email that I had one a free copy of Jay Bakker’s new book Faith, Doubt, and Other Lines I’ve Crossed: Walking With the Unknown God.  Not sure when it is supposed to arrive, but when it does I will probably do a blog through of it as well.  Jay’s previous book, Fall to Grace: A Revolution of God, Self, and Society was a great book.  It would be even better if I could find my copy.

*****

I am still working on processing all that came with Rachel Held Evans‘s visit here to Williamsburg.  What is clear is that my commitment to women in ministry has been reaffirmed.  This is one of the more important issues facing the church.  Let me point in the direction of two groups that are doing great work on the issue.  First is Christians for Biblical Equality.  Coming from a slightly more Evangelical slant, they are a great resouce if you find yourself doing textual battle with “Biblical” Patriarchy folks.  Second is Baptist Women in Ministry.  If you are a Baptist and affirm women in ministry (which you should) this organization needs your support.  As an added note, we are in the middle of Martha Stearns Marshall Month of Preaching, an effort by BWiM to encourage congregations to have female guest preachers.  Also, if you live in a state with an active CBF presence, you might have a state BWiM as well.

*****

I have applied to be a part of the Amazon Associate program.  I point to a lot of books and this is a way for me to get a little back.  At this point I am not trying to make money, but just break even.  I am hoping to transition the site from a free site to a full feature hosted site in the near future.  However, that takes money.  If I am approved for the program, you will see a little widget appear.  If you feel generous, please use it for your Amazon shopping needs.  Won’t cost you a dime and might net me a few!

Of course, my goal is to eventually allow this and other writing that I do become a part of my income stream.  It is just one way for me to try and “live the dream.”

*****

That’s about it.  I hope to get a lot of content cranked out over the next few days and schedule it to be posted over the next week or so.  I feel like if I can ever get ahead of the curve on some of these things, I would be doing all right.

Edited to include links that I forgot to include the first time. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

